UPDATE: Smarties are vegan!

In our inaugural episode (May 1, 2012) we mentioned a list of 8 products that are secretly not vegan.

As it turns out, one of those items (Smarties) are INDEED vegan!

Here is Ben’s email to the company:

From: Ben Strothmann
Sent: Thursday, November 08, 2012 7:09 AM
To: Liz Dee; Kerri Nastasi
Subject: Contact Us

You have an article on your site that states that Smarties are indeed Vegan.

However – as I have seen published on other websites, some Smarties are dyed using carmine (a dye derived from beetle-like insects)

Is this true? Has this changed?

Here is a link to this source:
http://simplyfantasticbooks.files.wordpress.com/2012/02/8-foods-you-didn_t-know-contained-meat1.png
You mentioned on your site that Smarties are indeed vegan and that they contain no animal ingredients. Here is a link to that page on your site:
http://www.smarties.com/product/vegan/

 

And here is the response I received:

From: Kerri Nastasi <kgoral@smarties.com>
Subject: RE: Contact Us
Date: November 8, 2012 9:34:50 AM EST
To: Ben Strothmann

Thank you for your email at Smarites.com, Ben-

Please be assured that our Smarties products are vegan and do not contain any animal products or by products. The information that is listed on the link that you included in your email, regarding Smarties containing carmine, is false.

We appreciate you brining this to our attention, thank you! We hope that this has addressed your concern. If you have any further questions please feel free to contact us.

Thank you again!

 

 

There you have it!  Smarties are vegan!

Please circulate this UPDATED version of the graphic we posted in Episode 1 so that we can help spread the truth!

8-foods-you-didn_t-know-contained-meat

Comments 1

Leave a Reply